Feedback: The Mary Lawson event

Meet the Author: Mary Lawson – 10th November 2011

“I started writing short stories for women’s magazines when my children were little. I needed a job where I could work from home. The magazines would only accept stories that were set in the UK and in the present and they always had to follow the “boy meets girl” formula. I wanted to write about my own background, about Canada, my childhood and my roots there. Once I sent a story that was set in Canada to one of the magazines. The fiction editor phoned me and said “Mary, you know this is not the sort of thing we publish. But I love it and I will publish it anyway. But you’ve got the basis of a novel here.” He also told me that my writing was better when I wrote about Canada, that my voice is Canadian.”

Read more on the “meet the author”-page

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

